Beauty ‘secrets’ I wish I’d been told a long time ago (for lazy people)

  1. Everyone needs a different lip balm. As silly as this sounds, I’ve spent ages practically pouring Carmex onto my face as the rest of my family love it, and it works so well for them. I couldn’t get my head round the fact that something perfect for The Philistines might not be right for me! After trying Burt’s Bees honey lip balm I have never worried about not having a lip balm that wasn’t quite right. It’s just perfect for me, and everyone will have one that is just about right so fear not!
  2. You can do whatever the hell you want with your body hair. This one probably has been obvious to some for ever, and others not at all. If you want to be bald, go ahead and do that! Just do it because you want to, not because you feel you have to. All I’ll say about this one is that I feel a lot better now that I’m not changing things about my appearance for reasons other than wanting to.
  3. Don’t freak out about what you eat. Someone happy with their weight and eating food they enjoy is probably going to look happier, more and ease and thus more beautiful than someone worrying about how many calories or grams of fat are in that next bite of whatever it is they’re eating. Just eat what you want to eat! For breakfast today I had a bowl of greek salad and some Bonne Maman Gallettes au beurre (the single most delicious type of biscuit in existence) but that’s okay! Probably later on I’ll feel like something with more protein and less fat or whatever. Your body knows what it wants!
  4. Let the inside reflect the outside. I don’t mean painting your muscles and sinew onto your skin, I mean let the person you are inside be reflected in the way you modify your appearance. It’s okay if you want to look like a human Barbie, as long as you’re happy and not trying to be something you’re not and feeling unhappy about it.
  5. And lastly, Love yourself. For a while I thought that feeling good about myself would come from hours of gruelling exercise, having every hair on my body from the neck down ripped from their follicles and spending large proportions of every day making my self up to look different. I now realise that looking the way I want to comes from me taking the dog out for a run (and enjoying it!), realising that hair is not the enemy and not wasting time and money on waxes etc and expressing myself with makeup in a way that I’m comfortable with and I feel accentuates my looks, rather than completely hiding them.
2 comments

  1. Love this blog post soo much. At first I though it was kinda gross that i was lazy about removing body hair but it takes up so much money and time and my hairs on my legs are so fine anyway they’re practically non existent. This post makes me feel wayy more comfortable about it thanks 😀

Leave a Reply

